HOMEMADE GRANOLA

January 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

First things first –
Breakfast, the most important meal of the day, is often neglected that’s why I decided to start my blog with a breakfast recipe.

I love having a big breakfast but during the week I don’t always have time to cook much before starting work. Granola is healthy and does not need much preparation. You can make some on a Sunday and you’ll have your own homemade granola for the whole week. You can also double or triple the amounts and enjoy granola for longer.

So I found this recipe “Easy Homemade Granola” via Pinterest and decided to add brazil nuts. Also I reduced the amount of cinnamon (I’m not its biggest fan and I’d say it kills the other flavours if not used with moderation).

INGREDIENTS

Dry Ingredients:

  • 3 cups oats
  • ½ cup flour
  • ½ cup nuts (I put brazil nuts)
  • ½ cup seeds (I put sunflower and pumpkin seeds)
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • ½ T. cinnamon
  • ¼ t sea salt

Liquid Ingredients

  • ½ cup honey
  • ¼ cup olive oil or melted butter
  • ½ T vanilla

Fruit

  • 1 cup dried fruit soaked in water (I put cranberries)

DIRECTIONS

1. Measure and mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

2. Mix liquid ingredients. Pour over dry ingredients and stir until coated.

3. Put the mixture into a baking dish sprayed with oil. I used a 20×20 cm baking dish.

4. Bake at 180 ºC for 20 minutes.

5. Stir and add the dried fruit.

6. Bake 20 – 25 minutes more or until golden.

7. Leave it cool and keep it in an airtight container.

8. Enjoy with some milk or yoghurt!

Note: You can also add other type of seeds (flaxseed, sesame seeds…), nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts…) and dried fruits (apricots, mango, pineapple, goji berries…) And modify the amounts. Improvise!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HOMEMADE GRANOLA at Sesame Seed.

meta

